Brandon’s Jacobson captures Grey Owl crown in thrilling fashion


Short article articles

WASAGAMING, Male. — Brandon’s Jared Jacobson birdied the previous three holes on Sunday to seize the 60th yearly Grey Owl golfing tournament, introduced by IG Wealth Management, in thrilling trend.

Article articles

Jacobson, who plays a lot of his golf at Very clear Lake Golfing Course, appeared proper at property as he rolled in a 12-foot birdie putt on 18 to fireplace a 2-below-par 70. Wheat Town Golf Course’s Ross Sheard missed a 4-foot putt on 18 that would have compelled a playoff.

Jacobson’s 1-beneath complete of 141 was very good plenty of for his second Gray Owl championship. He also received in 2014.

Posting material

Sheard had a two-shot direct on to start with-round leader Noel Ngo and a 4-shot edge on Jacobson standing on the 16th tee, but he bogeyed the small par 4 though Ngo and Jacobson birdied. Jacobson then pulled inside one of Sheard when he rolled in a 12-footer on the par-3 17th for birdie. Sheard parred and Ngo bogeyed, so Sheard had a 1-shot edge on each of them going into the last hole.

Write-up written content

Jacobson, 42, strike a hole wedge to 12 ft, although Sheard put his approach shot on the front remaining portion of the inexperienced, about 30 feet absent. Sheard’s putt rolled about four feet past the hole, and then Jacobson stepped up and rolled his putt in for his third straight birdie. Sheard could have compelled additional holes, but his four-footer slid just previous the suitable edge.

Sheard (71-71—142) and Ngo (70-72—142) tied for 2nd, whilst defending winner Jay Thiesen of Russell (72-77—149) and Shilo’s Nolan Tutkaluk (75-74—149) tied for fourth.

Tim Lynch of Williston, N.D. (79-72—151) won the Greyer Owl title for those people age 60 and over.

Stephen Johnston of QX104 and 94.3 The Travel gained his fifth Media Flight title with scores of 87 and 81 for a 168 complete.

The Grey Owl was performed for the initial time given that 2019 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and 261 golfers participated.


Jared Jacobson, Brandon 71-70—141

Noel Ngo, Pine Ridge 70-72—142

Ross Sheard, Wheat Town 71-71—142

Jay Thiesen, Russell 72-77—149

Nolan Tutkaluk, Shilo 75-74—149

Brett Janz, Portage 74-76—150

Trent Wood, Elmhurst 74-77—151

Marcus Friess, Estevan, SK 72-79—151

Todd Slatnik, Winnipeg 75-78—153

Steven Younger, St. Charles 74-80—154

Garth Collings, Breezy Bend 75-81—156

Murray Lindenberg, Brandon 71-86—157

Doug Stinchcombe, Very clear Lake 75-86—161


Source link